Dec 082005
 

Total number of cars on the side of the road or in a ditch on the way to work at 11:30am this morning? 9.

The most impressive was the Lexus in the drainage ditch between North/West-bound 183 and the service road just in front of the shopping centers at 360 (the ones with the Best Buy/Crate & Barrel and Dave & Buster’s/Babies R’ Us.

I didn’t see any accidents in progress or being cleaned up. I did run into a guy at the coffee shop who said that he drove up from San Antonio last night and it took him 5 hours. For those unfamiliar, that drive should take 1 hour. He witnessed an 18-wheeler at a 90-degree angle to the road at one point and also saw several cars spin out. He also witnessed two people trying to negotiate the hill at Spicewood Springs and 360 with no luck. In fact, at least one of the cars ended up rolling over as it went down the hill. Yikes!

I didn’t see much ice on the actual roads. There was some on the shoulders. The flyover from northbound I-35 to north/west bound 183 was even clear and you’d expect that to be one of the worst spots.

Since we’re not going to get any more precipitation, it shouldn’t be too bad tomorrow despite the temperature dropping even lower tonight.

 Posted by on December 8, 2005 at 12:31 pm
Dec 062005
 

Mabel Davis SkateparkThe grand re-opening of our neighborhood park on Saturday was well-attended. The majority of the city council, the mayor, the city manager, the parks department director and the solid waste services director all showed up along with neighbors and eager skaters from around town and around Texas. The city powers that be hammered on the long overdue delivery of both a clean park and a skatepark as a “promise delivered”. Nevermind that it took 5-10 years to deliver on both of them.

Most of the speeches were stock and stuck to the same theme. Too many cooks spoil the stew and too many speakers begin to get repetitive. Chuck Lesniak, who dealt with the remediation for the watershed protection arm of the city and also ran most of the neighborhood information sessions, got a little teary-eyed during his speech. The ribbon-cutting prominently featured one of Will Wynn’s daughters and some other kid. Would it’ve killed them to get some kids from the neighborhood? I’m sure Ms. Wynn’s park wasn’t built on a landfill.

The new skatepark drew skaters ranging from age 4 or 5 to age 40 or 50, a testament to the staying power of the sport. There’s talk of opening 1 or 2 more to meet demand. If Saturday was any indication, they’re needed. I brief talk with Jared Ficklin, neighbor and skater activist, let me know that there’s a bond meeting on Thursday that could impact future parks. Jared also pointed out some of the nuances of the design of the park. They purposely created the area above the bowl to form multiple lanes of traffic and it seemed to be working. Without prompting, the skaters self-organized into 4 lanes of traffic, each taking a turn for their run.

The new playground equipment is mediocre, installed two years ago and sitting unused since installation. For such a long wait, they might’ve done a little more. It looks like it’ll be a while before all of the grass grows in. They’ve planted lots of wildflowers in addition to the grass, so the spring is supposed to be spectacular. Chuck informed me that the paved trail that now dead-ends past the footbridge by the pond will eventually be continued and then looped around the park. This is supposed to be completed in the near-term and was a pleasant surprise. Those in the neigborhood should keep tabs to ensure that this happens.

 Posted by on December 6, 2005 at 9:10 pm
Dec 062005
 

With the recent 50th anniversary of the start of the Montgomery Bus Boycotts and the death of Rosa Parks earlier this year, there’s been a lot of stories and retrospectives in the news media for the past couple of weeks about this seminal event and about the subsequent movement championed by Dr. King.

I just read a post over on BoingBoing about an MLK Boulevards Flickr Pool. People are submitting pictures taken on MLK Boulevards around the country. There’s only one Austin submission so far. Get busy, people!

 Posted by on December 6, 2005 at 9:48 am

Bad Sony, Bad

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Bad Sony, Bad
Dec 012005
 

Naughty, naughty SonyOk, so this is kind of a stretch, but since Mark Russinovich lives in Austin and was the one to sound the alarm about the rootkit that Sony’s installing on your computer under the guise of protecting their copyrights if you play one of their CDs , I thought I’d post it here. Clicking the image will take you to Mark’s blog.

If you haven’t heard about this, BoingBoing has a pretty good roundup about it. Since Sony’s been so very naughty this year, it makes sense not to buy any of their crap as gifts. The EFF has a nice guide to help let you know which CDs are affected in case you already have one.

 Posted by on December 1, 2005 at 9:25 am

Commence with the holiday merriment

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Commence with the holiday merriment
Nov 292005
 

Strains of “White Christmas” from the H-E-B loudspeakers well over a week before Thanksgiving was a little much. I noticed the lights and garland on Congress and the decorations in the Arboretum shopping center going up around the same time. It’s almost clich

 Posted by on November 29, 2005 at 1:44 pm

Two more added

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Two more added
Nov 272005
 

Just last week Metroblogging added Islamabad and Vancouver. This week? Dubai and Miami. Could there be any more of a juxtaposition in city cultures? I think not.

 Posted by on November 27, 2005 at 6:21 pm

Casino El Camino 11th Anniversary Party Recap

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Casino El Camino 11th Anniversary Party Recap
Nov 272005
 

Sons of HerculesTook me a few days, but I finally posted some shots from the party. I arrived around 10:30, just before Nic Armstrong and the Thieves began their set, things were running late because of a faulty mixing board. In keeping with Murphy’s Law, the keg cooler had also died that afternoon, meaning that they had to pack the thing with ice for the whole night or lose all of the kegs. There wasn’t anywhere to get a new compressor at 4pm on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving. I’m guessing they’ve gotten it repaired by now as the ice was causing a swamp behind the bar.

I missed Nic Armstrong at ACL, but they were quite good, definitely working the British angle. I didn’t get close enough to get any good shots because it was already so crowded on the patio by the time I walked back there. The whole place was packed for most of the night. I saw quite a few people there: Wiley, Johnny V. from Pink Swords, several members of Ugly Beats, to name a few. I hung out at the bar until Sons of Hercules started and then headed back to get some shots for the web site. I think I got some pretty good ones. They had a good sound considering they were out on the patio and crammed into a corner. I think Dale was a little distracted by the go-go dancers.

I’ve known Casino for roughly 15 years. We were record store clerks together at the old Sound Warehouse at Burnet and 49th. I met up with him and several others in Buffalo in 1993 for a Jacklords reunion, which is when he started talking to Mark, who already owned several bars there, about partnering to open a place on Sixth Street. Who would’ve thought that one year later, it’d be open and twelve years later it’d be going strong?

Congratulations to Casino and his crew, some of whom have been with the bar since the beginning (well, Gargoyle, anyway).

 Posted by on November 27, 2005 at 4:28 pm

Casino El Camino 11th Anniversary Party

 Uncategorized  Comments Off on Casino El Camino 11th Anniversary Party
Nov 222005
 

It happens the same night every year. The Casino El Camino 11th Anniversary Party is tomorrow night with Nic Armstrong and the Thieves at 10 and Sons of Hercules at 11. DJ Hucklebuck will be presiding over the affair the rest of the time and there’s word that there’ll be go-go dancers.

Here’s your chance to kick off the holiday in a (relatively) smoke free environment. You asked for it! You’d better enjoy it! I’ll be there with a camera to record the debauchery.

 Posted by on November 22, 2005 at 10:06 pm
Nov 222005
 

Riffing off of Charlie’s last post, does anyone else notice changes in traffic around here that seem to be seasonal?

My commute home always seems to get worse in the winter, specifically right after we turn the clocks back. Is this because people have a harder time driving in the dark? Tonight was frickin’ horrible. I-35 southbound is consistently backed up onto 183 eastbound now and tonight, even 183 was a parking lot at the same point. There was also an accident on Ben White, so my trick of going down the service road to Airport and then going Montopolis to Riverside to Pleasant Valley to Oltorf wasn’t as effective as usual.

Traffic is definitely lighter in the summer, mostly due to the absence of UT-related traffic, I assume. It used to be even more pronounced when I moved here in the late ’80s. I’ve also noticed that the traffic gets progressively worse as the week goes on in the summer. On Mondays, I can frequently zoom down I-35 without much of a slowdown, but by Friday, it’s stop and go most of the way. None of the days during the summer can touch what I’ve been going through for the last couple of weeks. Perhaps I can telecommute a few days a week? Please?

 Posted by on November 22, 2005 at 9:54 pm